top of page

Tired. Just tired.

So there are loads of signs that you’re out of the honeymoon stage of pregnancy and finally in the third trimester and losing the will to live. Whether you’ve stopped caring about farting in public or getting off the sofa has become a workout, there’s always one ‘symptom’ that all pregnant women have in common. Sleep. Or lack of it.

We currently have 3 weeks left until our gorgeous little rainbow baby, hopefully, makes her appearance, (trusting she doesn’t make us wait longer……) and bedtime is now the time of the day that I dread.

You might think that sleep deprivation is something you have to deal with once baby arrives but for many mums, getting a good night’s rest in pregnancy can be a real challenge.

The cause of my lack of sleep is restless legs and carpal tunnel L Seriously, this pregnancy has been lovely up until the past month or so. Restless legs don’t necessarily hurt, unless the baby is also on a nerve, but they are incredibly frustrating. They have brought me to tears on a few occasions because it’s been so difficult to get to sleep and the pain in my hands and wrists has been awful!

If you are unfortunately suffering with similar symptoms, there is hope and there are things you can do to help.

Get comfortable…As best you can.

By now, your previously tiny bump will have grown into one impressive belly. This can make getting comfortable difficult and may cause a lot of tossing and turning in the night. The trick to ease this is to get creative with pillows!

If you don’t have a specific pregnancy pillow don’t worry, you can use normal pillows. I found it comfortable to have one between my thighs when I was led on my side and one slightly under my bump to support its weight. Then get your head comfy.

It is recommended to sleep on your left side but don’t worry if you turn over in the night.

Environment

I have found it so much easier to get to sleep not there isn’t a TV in my bedroom. I sit in the living room until ready for bed and then head up. When you watch TV or go on a computer whilst in bed, your brain doesn’t really get to switch off. It’s important to set the right environment. This means soft lighting and correct temperature. It’s common for pregnant women to feel hot during the third trimester so open a window to let in some cool air. If you’re pregnant during the summer, definitely invest in a fan!

Toilet Breaks

Expect a lot more toilet visits due to the weight of the baby pressing on your bladder. It gets even worse once they’re engaged. Added to that, your kidneys are now ‘peeing for two’ and will be filtering up to 50 percent more blood than usual.

It is important to stay hydrated but to help, drink plenty during the day then limit the amount you drink in the evening before bed. Remember to go to the toilet before jumping into bed, don’t make the same mistake as me over and over by getting comfy and then realise you need a piss. Also, learn forward when you pee – this will help to completely empty your bladder.

Food

I did have some horrible heartburn in my second trimester but have been lucky enough to avoid it in my third. I know some women aren’t as lucky. For those of you who are suffering, try to avoid eating spicy or large meals before bed (even though I know the munchies are hard to avoid). Peanut butter is really good before bed if you really need a snack but definitely avoid caffeine!

Personal Routine

So, this is my current bedtime routine which has helped and is definitely something I would recommend trying! So, start off by getting you husband/wife/partner to run you a bubble bath. I’m currently using a few drops of lavender oil, splash of the baby’s Johnsons night time bath and relaxing Radox. Yes, chuck it all in! I’ll light some candles and put a film on the laptop (usually Disney and the laptop is safely resting on the toilet seat.).

I don’t rush getting out and into my PJs, mostly because the husband has to pick me up out of the bath, but I’ll take my time, use some relaxing body butter and Olay night time face cream (good skin regime during pregnancy is so important!) and get into a pair of comfy PJs. Now I’m not going to lie, the PJs will likely come off by the time I settle to sleep as I’m just too hot.

Lastly, my hubby makes me a cup of Horlicks with an added teaspoon of hot chocolate to drink before bed. I’ve found this quite soothing and think the warm milk has helped me settle. I also wear a wrist restraint now due to the carpal tunnel.

Try anything you can to relax before bed, I have rain sounds on my phone or have the window open to hear the traffic as I can’t stand sleeping with silence (I know I’m a weirdo!).

Getting a good night’s sleep isn’t always easy, but you’ll want to rest as much as you can before your baby arrives – and the real sleep deprivation begins!

bottom of page